<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

“Let It Be”- Dyme Def

“Dyme Def is a Seattle based hip hop trio, founded in 2006 and composed of rappers Fearce Villain, S.E.V., and Brainstorm. Bean One is the primary beat producer for the group, but MC Brainstorm makes the occasional beat as well, although he is also a recognized MC, being a past champion of the Red Bull Beat Battle in 2007.”

That’s all the info that I was able to graze from the internet, but from the quality of “Let It Be,” I am sure that there will soon be a plethora of info on Dyme Def.

“Let It Be,” manages to be uplifting while telling the heart wrenching tale of a young man who was physically and emotionally abused by his father.  The story is told chronologically, starting with the father abusing his son at home and the mothers refusal (or inability) to remedy the situation.  By the end of the song the son has found himself living in fear of becoming like his father:

No turning to my dad ’cause he’s too far to look for
So instead I look forward, but I don’t look forward to seeing him
At nights I still have bad dreams of being him
People say, “You look just like your dad
You got his laugh, you got his walk, you got his talk.”
But I don’t got his heart
No, I’m much stronger

Songs like this are a view into a mans soul, and must be treasured.  Listen to the emotion in the last verse, and enjoy sharing a moment with Fearce Villain, S.E.V., and Brainstorm.

Lyrics here.

More about Dyme Def here.

Let It Be - Space Music

