<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

Tuesdays “Mixed Bag” with Dan

“I Fall Back” – The Deadly Gentlemen
I tortured myself over what to choose for my inaugural post. Suffice it to say that I think I have my choices picked out for the next month, ranging from disgustingly funky, to technically unprecedented, to…well…awesomely Japanese. But I digress.

Eventually it was clear that “I Fall Back,”–a beautifully written, performed, and filmed number from The Deadly Gentlemen–was the winner. I am, after all, a romantic. Based out of Boston, MA this 5-man dudetastic group of musical prodigies is the best thing to happen to bluegrass since the invention of the banjo. They are passionate and unique. They describe their music as “epic folk” and “grass core”. From their website: “Instead of having a lead singer, we use a nonstop orchestration of somewhat unconventional vocals, with everybody in the band doing everything they can. Expect a lot of three-part harmony singing, group shouting, really dense rhymes and an almost rap-like phrasing”. I couldn’t have said it better myself (no surprise there).

While most but not all of the lyrics are written by Greg Liszt–an innovator of the four finger banjo picking technique and MIT educated Molecular Biology PhD who retired from the field to play professionally about three days after receiving the degree–each member brings so much to the table; in your face bass, I-didn’t-even-know-the-choice-of-notes-could-be-so-perfect-violin, radical mandolin, and metal-inspired flat pick guitar (with the hair to match).

“I Fall Back,” was filmed on a London rooftop in the midst of a Europe tour. It’s beautiful and captivating. I dare you to not daydream when the song starts playing…

More info about The Deadly Gentlemen here.

