<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>


“I Need a Dollar” – Aloe Blacc

Aloe Blacc (born Egbert Nathaniel Dawkins III) is an American soul singer, rapper and musician. He is married to Australian rapper Maya Jupiter. Blacc was born in Orange County, California to Panamanian parents.He began his music career in 1995 as a rapper in the hip hop duo Emanon with producer Exile. By the late 1990s, Blacc was part of the duo Emanon and joined the group Lootpack on tour in Europe. The duo released six albums. This led to Blacc working with the French Jazz group Jazz Liberatorz. He released an album at the end of the 1990s.In 2003, Blacc signed with Stones Throw Records and began a solo career. On July 11, 2006, he released his first LP album, Shine Through, on CD, vinyl record and online.

“I Need a Dollar,” sounds like an upbeat happy song, but within the lyrics lies a depressing tale.  The song tells the story of a young man who has lost all of his money, and has collapsed into alcoholism and depression.  He asks the listener “if I share with you my story would you share your dollar with me?” and listening to his story, he certainly needs the dollar.

Well I need a dollar dollar, a dollar is what I need
Well i don’t know if I’m walking on solid ground
Cause everything around me is falling down
And all I want – is for someone – to help meee
I had a job but the boss man let me go
He said I’m sorry but I won’t be needing your help no more
I said please mister boss man I need this job more than you know
But he gave me my last paycheck and he sent me on out the door

Songs like this have always confused me, because I don’t know whether to feel sorry for the man in the story or to sing along in his jaunty tune.  Nevertheless, this story has happened a lot of people these days and we all must be grateful for what we have.  Enjoy!

Lyrics here.

More about Aloe Blacc here.

I Need a Dollar - Good Things

