<<Next     Random    Yesterday>>

“La La La” – Snoop Lion

Let me begin this article by explaining my choice of song for today, for I expect many of my readers might be offended by my choice.

“La La La,” is by no means a great song.  I don’t personally hate it, but it is certainly not fantastic.  The story behind the man who wrote it, and the transformation he recently underwent from gangster rapper to reggae artist is, however, worth discussing.

As many of you know, Snoop Lion is actually the rapper formerly known as Snoop Dogg (Calvin Cordozar Broadus, Jr., born October 20, 1971).  Snoop Dogg was one of the most successful rap artists ever, with 11 studio albums (7 Platinum) and 13 grammy nominations.  He has become a household name, and a legend in the world of rap.  With a career in rap spanning over 20 years, who would think Snoop would decide to change his tune?  No one.

However, on February 4, 2012, Snoop Dogg (now Snoop Lion) announced his new upcoming reggae album entitled Reincarnated, and released the single “La La La,” to huge controversy and backlash.

This change, supposedly, is the result of an extended trip to Jamaica where Snoop found a part of himself that he had been missing.

I didn’t know that until I went to the temple, where the High Priest asked me what my name was, and I said, ‘Snoop Dogg.’  And he looked me in my eyes and said, ‘No more. You are the light; you are the lion.’ From that moment on, it’s like I had started to understand why I was there.

On a bit of a side note, Snoop has been making the VERY controversial claim that he is Bob Marley reincarnated.  First of all I would like to point out that Bob Marley died in 1981, 10 years after Snoop Dogg was born.  If I understand reincarnation correctly, and correct me if I’m wrong, but that seems a little off.  More importantly (and offensively), comparing oneself to Bob Marley is probably the most egomaniacal thing a musician could do in my eyes.

All of this is the glass half empty version of this story though.  The fact of the matter is that Snoop has decided to reinvent himself and produce music “to perform for kids and my grandmother, people around the world who really love me and can’t really accept the music that I make,” he told press.  “Reggae music is music of love –happiness and sadness.”

Snoop has spoken about his favorite song from Reincarnation called “No Guns Allowed,” which will be an anti-gun crime ballad.  For a man who has previously capitalized on rapping about gang violence and crime life to be preaching love and happiness is something not to be taken lightly.  For us to love an artist when he preaches violence, and to castigate him when he tries to make the world a better place is very short sighted.

I’m not saying we have to love the music the new Snoop will be releasing, but we should support his decision to have a better message.  I love “Gin and Juice,” as much as the next guy, but I could never hate on music promoting peace.  You have my tentative blessing, Snoop Lion.

Lyrics here.

More about Snoop Lion (Dogg) here.

La La La - La La La - Single

