<<Next    Random   Yesterday>>

Part 1/2

Part 2/2

“I Want to Take You Higher” – Sly & the Family Stone

I’m so glad I went to Woodstock.

Woodstock was the pinnacle socially and musically of a truly fantastic, however brief, social phenomena.  The hippie thing didn’t last long, but it was real and it was great.  I’m sorry you missed it (if, in fact, you did).  Many people think that Woodstock was about drugs.  Drugs were certainly plentiful at Woodstock, but that is not what it was about.  Music, Peace and Love…it all came together at Woodstock in a way that had never occurred before or ever since.  It changed my generation and in some small way, probably changed our history.  It was certainly the greatest music festival ever.

At about three in the morning on the second day, on a day that included Country Joe McDonald, Santana, John Sebastian, Canned Heat, The Grateful Dead and Creedence Clearwater followed by an hour of Janis Joplin, everybody was exhausted.  I had a headache so bad I didn’t think I could live through another song by Janis Joplin.  Then, Sly & the Family Stone took the stage and it was like electricity was in the air and in the mud.  Everyone was on their feet.  The energy and the joy cannot be described.  It was one of those times when “you just had to be there”.

People ask: “Who was the best at Woodstock?”  There was an awful lot of great music, but for me, it was Sly & the Family Stone.  Turn it up, close your eyes and make believe that you are at Yasgur’s farm on August 17th, 1969.

Lyrics here.

More about Sly & the Family Stone here.

More about Woodstock here.

I Want to Take You Higher (Live at The Woodstock Music & Art Fair, August 16, 1969) - The Woodstock Experience: Sly & The Family Stone

