<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

“Dashboard” – Modest Mouse

The first time I heard “Dashboard,” I swear my thoughts jumped to something similar to the video above.  I was traveling through Europe sailing, and the chaos and unpredictable nature of my life at the time seemed to fit the song perfectly.  Everything seemed to be going wrong, but at the end of the day things could have been so much worse.

Then I saw the music video, and I fell in love with the song completely.  I’ve liked Modest Mouse for a long time, ever since “Float On,” blasted across the radio waves in 2004.  The band formed in 1993 in Issaquah, Washington, by singer/lyricist/guitarist Isaac Brock, drummer Jeremiah Green, and bassist Eric Judy. Since their 1996 debut album, This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think About, their lineup has centered around Brock, Green and Judy.  Brocks surreal vocal style and wavering melodies have earned them a devout following in most indie rock circles, but the band releases albums so slowly the their fans are seldom rewarded.  The naming of Isaac’s record label “Glacial Pace,” was no accident, so treasure the Modest Mouse you can get!

Lyrics here.

More about Modest Mouse here.

Dashboard - We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank

