<<Next    Random     Yesterday>>

“Masters of War” – Bob Dylan

Written in 1963, Dylan has said  that “‘Masters of War’… is supposed to be a pacifistic song against war. It’s not an anti-war song. It’s speaking against what Eisenhower was calling a military-industrial complex as he was making his exit from the presidency. That spirit was in the air, and I picked it up.”  The song was written during the Cold War, and, sadly, is still spot-on today, 49 years later.

As I was thinking about what to post this week, all the world-wide violence and unrest was whirling through my head.  It felt just like it did during the Vietnam war.  It felt frightening.  It made me wonder what will happen to my children, and their children.  How can the world keep on turning like this?  So I listened to “Peace Train” by Cat Stevens, thinking about a positive approach.  Then I remembered Barry McGuire’s “Eve of Destruction”. After that I played John Lennon’s “Imagine”, then Dylan’s “Everything is Broken”….where to turn?  Eventually I decided on this classic as it is timeless, succinct.

bob dylan

I sincerely hope that the world can become a more peaceful place.  Cat Stevens in his performance of “Peace Train” at the 2006 Nobel Peace Prize Awards ceremony suggested that ending poverty would help bring about peace.  Indeed.  That would be a good place to start.

Oh, and by the way, Dylan’s new CD Tempest is out,  in which, he claims, “Anything goes and you just gotta believe it will make sense.”

He’s also on tour, so if he comes near you, by all means GO!Rolling Stone cover

Lyrics here.

More about the song here.

More about Bob Dylan here.

Masters of War - The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan

