<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

“Your Arms Around Me” – Jens Lekman

Jens Lekman (pronounced Yens) is a Swedish singer-songwriter who was born in Angered in 1981. He started self-recording and privately releasing his music in 2000 on CD-R until 2003 when his first EP Maple Leaves was released through an independent Swedish label called Service Records. He later signed on with the American label Secretly Canadian to reach an audience outside of Scandinavia. He released his first full-length album, When I Said I Wanted To Be Your Dog, through Service and Secretly Canadian in 2004. Today’s song comes off his second album, Night Falls Over Kortedala, which was released in fall of 2007.

Honestly, when I first heard this song I didn’t love it, it took me a few listens before the dreamy style of the song resonated for me. I must have been listening to it quite a bit on a road trip because hearing this song always makes me feel a strange mix of nostalgia and adventure. Lekman’s lyrics are typically a little offbeat, and this song is no different. He has a knack for taking a strange story and turning it into a beautiful song. Hope you enjoy it, even on the first go around!

Lyrics here.

More about Jens Lekman here.

Lekman’s website here.

Your Arms Around Me - Night Falls Over Kortedala

