<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

“Furr” – Blitzen Trapper

Blitzen Trapper is a Portland, Oregon-based experimental country/folk band.  Formed in 2000, the band currently operates as a quintet, with Eric Earley (guitar/harmonica/vocals/keyboard), Erik Menteer (guitar/keyboard), Brian Adrian Koch (drums/vocals/harmonica), Michael Van Pelt (bass), and Marty Marquis (guitar/keyboards/vocals/melodica).

Blitzen Trapper self-released its first three albums. “Wild Mountain Nation” was No. 98 on Rolling Stone‘s list of the 100 Best Songs of 2007.  The release of Furr in 2008 was a high-water mark for the group as their eclectic new songs received a two-page feature in Rolling Stone. The album was ranked No. 13 on Rolling Stone’s Best Albums of 2008 while the title track was ranked No. 4 on the magazine’s Best Singles of 2008.

“Furr” is, at it’s heart, a fable of sorts.  It tells the story of a young man who wanders into the woods chasing the call of wolves even though he knows them to be dangerous, and is sucked into their pack.  His skin turns to fur, and he becomes a wolf.  However, after years of living with the wolves one day he sees a beautiful girl and decides to return to civilization.  His fur turns to skin, and he moves to a little farm with the woman.

The lyrics tell a more detailed story, listen and decide what this fable means to you.

Lyrics here.

More about Blitzen Trapper here.

Furr - Furr (Bonus Track Version)