<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

“Here’s To Now” – Ugly Casanova

I love adventure movies.  Seeing a group of people go out into nature and do incredible things is inspiring, and seeing some of the most beautiful places in the world doesn’t hurt either.
I first heard todays song in one of these movies, called 180 Degrees South: Conquerors of the Useless.  This movie documents one mans journey to Patagonia to climb the Corcovado Volcano and recreate an epic trip that a couple guys took in the 60’s.  Along the way he is stranded on Easter Island, journeys across the plains of Patagonia, catches some insane waves, and has one the most incredible adventures I can imagine.  I highly recommend the film, and you can read more about it here.

However, this is a music blog, so let’s talk music.

Ugly Casanova is a side project of Isaac Brock, the lead singer of Modest Mouse.  The band has not produced much material, but there are clear differences between Modest Mouse and Ugly Casanova.  The largest of these differences is certainly the stripped down nature of Ugly Casanova songs, which are modestly produced when compared with most Modest Mouse tracks.  The sound is also significantly more acoustic in its instrumentation.

I love this song.  It brings to me the excitement before travel, and the fear of leaving home, and the wonder of the unknown all at once.  I’m not sure if that’s because I subconsciously associate this song with the movie I saw it in, or if the song naturally inspires those emotions in me, but at the end of the day it doesn’t matter.  I can put my headphones on and dream of far away places, places I will hopefully one day adventure to.

Lyrics here.

More about Ugly Casanova here.

Here's to Now - 180 South (Original Soundtrack)

