<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

“Cascades” – Horse Feathers

“Cascades” – Horse Feathers (Live)
Today’s song is special in that I wanted to use it so badly that I actually created a movie and uploaded it to YouTube because I couldn’t find a studio version of the song anywhere. There were a few live versions, one of which I’ve included above so you can see how four people create such a diverse sound, but no album versions. So I had to go the extra mile, above and beyond the call of One Song Today duty. Not only is that the first time I’ve done that for this blog, but it’s actually the first time I’ve ever uploaded a video to YouTube at all. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not. Nevermind, it’s definitely a good thing.

The song that required so much effort from me is a tune from Portland, OR based band Horse Feathers. The band is fronted by Justin Ringle, a native of Idaho who moved to Portland and began playing shows under the name Horse Feathers in 2004. He was later joined by the Broderick siblings, Peter and Heather, and the group recorded Words Are Dead and House With No Home between 2005 and 2008. The Broderick’s both departed the group within the next year to pursue their own interests, and they were replaced with the current line up; Nathan Crockett on violin, Lauren Vidal on cello, and Sam Cooper as a multi-instrumentalist. Today’s song is off their album Thistled Spring from 2010.

“Cascades” is a diverse song that comes together beautifully. I highly recommend watching the second video as well to appreciate the group’s creative harmony in action. Anyway, I hope all my hard work was worth it and you enjoy Horse Feathers.

Lyrics here.

More about Horse Feathers here.

