<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

“I Wish I Knew Natalie Portman” – K-OS (ft Saukrates)

I think that this is probably the greatest title for a song I have ever heard.  As an afterthought, the song is really great too!

K-OS (as in chaos) and Saukrates, two Canadian rappers, came together for this song to make one of the catchiest Hip-Hop songs I have heard in a while.  The sampled background from “California Here We Come” by Phantom Planet sets the stage for an upbeat, happy song.  The lyrics are somewhat dark, discussing the life of a man on the run from the law (or some other shadowy force).  The chorus discusses how the narrator has found the life for himself, and that he can’t make someone love him.  You have to live the life you love, as we all preach and often don’t follow through!

On a more entertaining note, the name of the song has a great story.  “I Wish I Knew Natalie Portman” was released on 2 albums; K-OS’s’s Yes! and Saukrates as a single named “On The Run”.  The reason for the name difference?  Being a bit hungover, K-OS was asked by a label executive in the morning what he would like the song to be called, to which he promptly responded with the first idea that came to his head: “I Wish I Knew Natalie Portman”.

I started this website for stories like this!  Every song has one, enjoy this one song today (ha!)

Lyrics here.

More about K-Os here.

More about Saukrates here.

More about Yes! here.

I Wish I Knew Natalie Portman - Yes!

