<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

“Amie” – Pure Prairie League

“Amie” is one of those songs that I heard and thought no one had heard.  I was listening to an obscure radio station, full of funky bluegrass and banjo sounds and this came on.  “What a gem!” I thought.  Then today I sit down to write my post, search “Amie” on YouTube and BLAM over 2 million views.  I was surprise, but the song deserves it.

Pure Prairie League is one of those bands that has been producing great music forever and just never made it.  The band has it’s origins in the mid 1960’s in Waverly, Ohio, with Craig Fuller, Tom McGrail, Jim Caughlan and John Call. In 1970 McGrail named the band after a fictional 19th century temperance union featured in the 1939 Errol Flynn cowboy movie Dodge City.

However except for a brief record deal with Casablanca Records the bands talent has gone largely unrewarded.  “Amie” (1973) was the bands first foray into US charts and their highest, placing as high as 27th.  “Let Me Love You Tonight” was their next big hit, bringing the band back into the spotlight in 1981 and climbing as high as 28th on US charts and #1 in US Country.

The band has had a long run, active from the 1970s through the late 1980s and was revived in the late 1990s for a time, then again in 2004. As of 2012 they are still doing at least 100 shows a year.

This sort of longevity is one of the best indicators of real talent.  This is some pure American music, and when I hear it I take solace in the fact that this sound could come from nowhere except some pure bred American boys.  I think every country should have that sound, and I’m proud to claim this sound as my own.

Lyrics here.

More about Pure Prairie League here.

Amie - Pure Prairie League: Greatest Hits

