<<Next    Random    Yesterday>>

“Bartleby The Womanizer” – The Yawpers

About two weeks ago I got a text message that read, “This is Dave Romano, yo dude. My band The Yawpers new album Capon Crusade is available on iTunes.  Download it. Hope you’re well.”

The last time I spoke to Dave was about 3 years ago (and before that, probably 2 years). I was home in Albany, NY for a few days and gave him a ring saying I was home and seeing if he wanted to drink some beers. He said sure, come on over. I grabbed a case of shitty beer and ten minutes later I’m at his door. Ron, his dad, appears; “Hi Dan. Uhhh, Dave’s in Colorado…he told you to come over?” Either he was fucking with me or he actually thought I was in Colorado for some reason (the bud out there is pretty strong…). I’m pretty sure the former. Dave was always kind of a fucker like that—but he cracked me up and was always getting into something ridiculous that it was worth putting up with.

In any case, I finally checked out his band, The Yawpers. On their website they call themselves, “a grittier version of Wilco, with as much raw country sensibility as twisted indie imagination. Equally akin to Deer Tick, Tom Waits, Bob Dylan and Elvis, The Yawpers give a fresh blend of indie-country and rock ’n’ roll”.

I’d say they are definitely energetic. There are certainly elements of country, rock ‘n’ roll, and metal, and they have that indie sound where it’s like 25% of the music gets piped through one of those tin-can-and-string phones before rejoining the raw sound atyour ears. Grittier Wilco? I’m not familiar enough with either band to make that call.

The Band includes my buddy Dave (harmonica), Nate Cook, Jesse Parmet, and James Hale. All scruffy dudes living in Boulder, CO.

I thought this song, Bartleby the Womanizer, was pretty gnarly.

Fuckin’ dave…

Enjoy.

More about The Yawpers here..

Bartleby the Womanizer - Capon Crusade

