<<Next    Random     Yesterday>>

“Marathon” – Tennis

I was looking through Hype Machine’s “Best of 2012” list last night when I came upon this short but ever-so-sweet song. I was immediately transported to a different time and place, one with sun and surf and sandy beaches. Somewhere summer reigns supreme, gulls wheel overhead, and people without a care in the world laugh and dance the twist to surf jams whenever they aren’t too busy playing beach volleyball. I think I might have caught a glimpse of heaven. Then, less than three minutes later, this Coconut Grove utopia faded away and I was back in the Pacific Northwest, where rain reigns supreme and summer is a distant memory.

Tennis is comprised of husband and wife duo, Patrick Riley and Alaina Moore on guitar and vocals, as well as James Barone on the drums. Riley and Moore came up with the idea of exploring older 60’s pop stylings while on a seven-month sailing adventure along the Eastern Seaboard. Moore commented on the bands inception in an interview with The Huffington Post in 2012, here’s what she had to say:

“While Patrick and I were sailing, we found ourselves at a divey, tiki bar in the Florida Keys. The song “Baby It’s You” by The Shirelles was playing. We hadn’t been listening to music much at the time, so we were quite taken with the song. We found ourselves so excited by the way it was mixed and recorded. Every instrument had so much character. I asked him why no one recorded to simulate that aesthetic anymore. He told me he didn’t know, but that we should try it. I guess that was the moment our band and our sound was born.”

If you’d like to escape to a sunny, wind-swept island locale, then put “Marathon” on repeat and close your eyes. Hope you enjoy.

Lyrics here.

More about Tennis here.

“Baby It’s You” by The Shirelles here.

