Random    Yesterday>>

“Work Everyday” – Brother Ali

I have posted songs by Brother Ali before, but I heard this one and just had to put it up.  “Work Everyday” is a song inspired by the massive foreclosures the US saw after the financial crisis, but it addresses many other issues as well.  From the Tea Party and it’s beliefs, to the difficulty that most Americans face in trying to find success, the song is a very broad spectrum stab at the current situation in “The Land of Opportunity”.

Study go to college is what them people hollering
Too many road blocks in the way its not an option
To say that its impossible I would be lying
But you ain’t got a chance if you’re not up in that top ten

A couple got a scholarship but I am not them
Ain’t got the skills to pay the bills so my pockets are thin
So until I cop a gig and my hardship ends
Fixing to line my self up at your welfare office again

Some facts:  93 percent of all income growth in the U.S. in 2010 went to the top 1 percent of Americans. And 37 percent went to the top .01 percent.  Also astonishing: just 15,000 households received 37 percent of all of those income gains. In no other period in recent American history have economic gains been concentrated so disproportionately in an elite sliver.

Mourning in America and Dreaming in Color, is an album that both praises the US for it’s strengths, Ali litters his songs with extraordinary love for Americans.  However, as so many agree, there’s something that just ain’t right.

From “Letter to My Countrymen”:

My dear Brother Ali, I think you know deep down in your soul that something, something just ain’t right. You don’t want to be just well adjusted to injustice and well adapted to indifference. You want to be a person with integrity who leaves a mark on the world. People can say when you go that you left the world just a little better than you found it. I understand. I want to be like that too.

Lyrics here.

More about Brother Ali here.

